Asian Games 2023: Team India Reveals Squad for Cricket Tournament in China

The Asian Games 2023, will take place in China this year and will start from September 23 to October 8, 2023. One exciting addition to the games is the inclusion of cricket. Ruturaj Gaikwad has been selected to lead Team India in the upcoming Hangzhou Asian Games. The Men’s Selection Committee made the announcement on Friday, revealing the Men in Blue squad for the tournament. The men’s cricket competition will run from September 28 to October 8 and will follow the T20 format.

Asian Games 2023

Cricket has only been featured twice before at the Asian Games, and unfortunately, the Indian cricket team did not participate in those editions. However, this year, Team India is geared up to compete.

The squad for the 19th Asian Games includes Ruturaj Gaikwad as the captain, along with Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma as the wicketkeeper, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, and Prabhsimran Singh as the wicketkeeper.

The standby players are Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, and Sai Sudarsan.

Ruturaj Gaikwad will be the captain of the Indian team for the Asian Games this time. Additionally, Yashasvi Jaiswal, who is currently showcasing exceptional form in the ongoing first Test against the West Indies, has secured a place in the squad.
The T20 format for the men’s cricket competition will run from September 28 to October 8th.

The Indian squad at the Asian Games includes Rinku Singh, who had a successful season in the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2023.
Jitesh Sharma and Prabhsimran Singh, who excelled as wicketkeeper-batters in the IPL, have also earned their spots in the squad. Additionally, Shivam Dube, a crucial middle-order batsman for the Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2023, has been recalled to the Indian team for the Asian Games.

The women’s team for the Asian Games will be captained by Harmanpreet Kaur, with Smriti Mandhana serving as her vice.
The team also includes Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh as the wicketkeeper, Amanjot Kaur, Devika Vaidya, Anjali Sarvani, Titas Sadhu, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Minnu Mani, Kanika Ahuja, Uma Chetry as the wicketkeeper, and Anusha Bareddy.

The standby players are Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque, and Pooja Vastrakar.

The Women’s Selection Committee announced India’s squad for the 19th Asian Games in Hangzhou, which will be held from September 19 to October 8, 2023, at the Zhejiang University of Technology Pingfeng Cricket Field. The women’s cricket competition will take place from September 19 to 28, 2023, following the T20 format. Harmanpreet Kaur will lead Team India in the Asian Games, while Smriti Mandhana will serve as her deputy. Richa Ghosh and Uma Chetry will handle the wicket-keeping duties for Team India.

In addition, India has added Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque, and Pooja Vastrakar to its standby list of players.

Leave a Comment